Gemstone Guide

Gemstones are usually purchased by individuals as birthstones, for their favorite colors and to keep up with fashion and color trends. They are also chosen for their astrological reasons and their healing properties. When graded, Gemstones are graded based on COLOR, SHAPE, CLARITY and CARAT weight.


Every gemstone has a range of color ranging from light to dark and from more vivid to less vivid. Gemstones are graded based on color saturation and a variety of gemstones are available in nature in a wide range of colors. Below is a list of just a small selection of the most popular colored gemstones.


REDRuby, Mozambique Garnet
PINKPink Sapphire, Rhodolite Garnet, Pink Tourmaline, Morganite
YELLOWYellow Sapphire, Imperial Topaz, Citrine
GREENEmerald, Peridot, Green Tourmaline, Tsavorite Garnet, Jade
BLUEBlue Sapphire, Aquamarine, Blue Zircon, Lapis
PURPLEAmethyst, Tanzanite
WHITEPearl, White Topaz, White Sapphire, Opal
BROWNSmoky Quartz
BLACK/GRAYTahitian Pearl, Onyx


Gemstones are cut in a variety of shapes just like diamonds.



Gemstones are cut in a variety of ways to maximize their color and shine.



All gemstones like diamonds are unique and each have internal characteristics called inclusions and are graded for clarity.


Gemstones are weighed in carats like diamonds. Since each type of gemstone has a different density, they weigh differently. For example, a one carat round diamond would not weigh the same as a one carat round sapphire with the same size dimensions.

Have any queries? Feel Free To Contact Us.